为什么要学习辩论?

辩论是在出现异议或者分歧时的行为表现。学习辩论可以使你的头脑像纳尔逊·曼德拉、玛格丽特·撒切尔和奥普拉这些有影响力的人一样思维敏锐。除了教你如何形成论据之外, 辩论还教你如何正确的运用修辞和证据等技能, 为你未来的学术和职业生涯中取得更大的成功。

通过公开演讲能够说服人们, 有助于进行访谈、写作、研究、展示, 最重要的是培养批判性思维能力, 使辩手能够在生活的各个方面达到高水平的成功。在FDT学院, 我们相信学习演讲和辩论是学生未来成功的最佳投资。我们相信在世界著名的辩论导师Frankie  Cena 的指导下,可以帮助每一个学生发现我们专业团队的价值所在。


为什么选择FDT学院?

Frankie Cena 最初创立 FDT 学院时, 心中只有一个目标: 帮助年轻人有效地为自己的信仰辩护, 并发掘他们对公开演讲的热情。他的成功是众所周知的。他执教的团队经历如下:

  • 2015年赢得加拿大全国辩论锦标赛冠军
  • 在2013年和2015年分别赢得在捷克共和国举办的欧洲之心辩论赛冠军
  • 2013年赢得在德国举办的EurOpen辩论赛冠军
  • 带队参加三次在英国牛津和剑桥举办的国际青年辩论比赛,曾在2013年和2014年两次获奖
  • 2017年在印度尼西亚巴厘岛举办的全世界学校辩论冠军赛中取得前八强的好成绩.

FDT学院是温哥华唯一一所成功培训学员成为加拿大国家辩论队和加拿大国家演讲队的学院. 更加让人折服的是,Frankie Cena是加拿大唯一一位导师同时有5名学员在加拿大队: Ashley Phord Toy, Saara Meghji, Angelina Zhang, Andrew Yun, 和Rosa Rahimi是2017-2018年度的加拿大队成员.

在我们学院众多毕业生已成功考取常春藤联盟并走上令人振奋的职业道路。请在 "藤校推荐人" 页面阅读更多关于他们的信息。

请在”名人堂”页面阅读更多关于我们的杰出记录.


课程设置

我们目前按照年龄和水平分初,中,高级辩论团体课。我们年级最小的班是小学组,专门学习如何组织论点及演讲文章的写作。我们最大的班是高中生组,专门为高年级组的辩论赛做准备。

除了辩论课外,我们还有经验丰富的老师教授为了在公众演讲比赛和模拟联合国比赛取得更好成绩的比赛预备班。

虽然我们的大部分课程都是团体课,但我们还提供一对一的私人课程,我们可以根据学生的个人需求定制课程安排。对于那些远离低陆平原的人,或者无法进入我们学院的人,我们也会通过网络提供课程。

如想获取更多信息,请联系我们!

Why Debate?

Debate is the act of formal disagreement. It's the same activity that has sharpened the minds of such influential people as Nelson Mandela, Margaret Thatcher, and Oprah Winfrey. More than just teaching you how to form arguments, debate teaches you how to use rhetoric and evidence to your advantage, forming a skill set that follows debaters to succeed in their future academic and professional careers. 

Being able to persuade people through public speaking helps with interviews, paper writing, research, presenting, and most importantly in developing critical thinking abilities that allow debaters to reach high levels of success in all aspects of their lives. At Fostering Debate Talent Academy we believe that debate and speech is the single best investment in a student's future. Our dedicated team of instructors, as well as the expertise of the world renowned debate coach Frankie Cena, work to make sure every student finds value in what we teach.


Why choose FDT?

Frankie Cena founded FDT Academy with a single goal in mind: to help young people argue effectively for their beliefs and discover their passion for public speaking. His track record speaks for itself. He has coached teams that have:

  • Won the Canadian National Debating Tournament in 2015

  • Won the Heart of Europe Tournament in The Czech Republic in 2013 and 2015

  • Won the EurOpen tournament in Germany in 2013

  • Gone to the International Competition for Young Debaters in Oxford and Cambridge three times, winning twice in 2013 and 2014

  • Advanced to the Quarterfinals of the World Schools Debating Championship in Bali, Indonesia in 2017

FDT is the only academy in Vancouver that has trained students who have become members of the Canadian National Debate Team and Canadian National Public Speech Team. Furthermore, Frankie Cena is one of the only coaches in the country to have had 5 students on Team Canada at the same time: Ashley Phord Toy, Saara Meghji, Angelina Zhang, Andrew Yun, and Rosa Rahimi who were on the 2017/2018 team.

Our former students, now graduated, have gone on to Ivy-League educations and exciting career paths. Read more about them on the Testimonials page.

Visit our Hall of Fame page to learn more about our stellar record of success. 


Our Programs

We currently offer group classes, sorted by age and level, that teach basic to advanced debate skills. Our youngest classes have students in elementary school learning how to form arguments and write speeches. Our older classes prepare high school students for high level tournaments. 

In addition to debate we also offer dedicated classes to teaching public speaking in preparation for competing at public speaking competitions as well as Model UN classes where experienced instructors teach fundamental skills to help students prepare for Model UN conferences.

While most of our classes are in groups, we also offer one-on-one private lessons where we can tailor learning to a student's individual needs. For those far away from the Lower Mainland or who can't make it to our Academy, we offer classes through Skype as well. 


For further information including rates, please contact us.